Home > Mental Confetti > Eye Candy

Eye Candy

There’s a post by Merissa over at the Immature Matron that I read a short while ago which inspired me to write. In her post she wrote, and featured pictures, of both males and females who she feels are ‘hot’.

Nothing wrong about leering over a photo or video or movie and taking in the refreshing scent of a few select beautiful people. Look no further than me to see a party guilty of looking over a lithe, waif-like model du jour. But that’s the problem for me – the vast majority of those female models and pretty boys are so quick to be deleted from public consumption and recent memory. They’ll survive on looks for a year or two, maybe more, survive a few more on cosmetic surgery and scandal, but for the most part, they last as long as a heat shimmer on a cool day.

Though I appreciated the media favorites, even as a little kid I appreciated even more the art form of someone who as an adult, looked great. Someone who had maybe done their time in a lingerie spread but is way over their ‘best if used by‘ date. Someone who had flashed a lot of skin for the cover of a sports magazine, but who has traded that in for the life of a parent. Someone who despite what flash in the pan the paparazzi happens to be zeroing in on today, has attained dignity and grace of spirit. Someone who has not only retained youthful beauty, but through gradual maturity, has somehow found a way to add to that beauty. “Someone who has aged well”, to borrow a phrase.

You can keep the flavor of the year. I want the mellowed blend that has gone from within impulsive easy reach, to classic top shelf.

Here are a few that I feel look better now than they ever did:

Diane Lane!

Merissa Tomei!

Michelle Pfeiffer!

Kyra Sedgewick!

Beauty, it’s all relative. What I feel is inspiring, you may feel is pompous. What you feel is beautiful, I may feel is misguided lust.

But I’ll tell you this: I’d feel a whole lot better about eating left-over meatloaf on a Tuesday night  knowing that one of the above would be serving it to me! Pass the ketchup, honey!

  1. 03/31/2011 at 7:38 PM

    Gee, glad to have inspired you. 🙂

    For the record, I think that all of your choices are beautiful women who have aged gracefully. Jolene added Sandra Bullock to my list, and I think she fits into this category of yours as well.

  2. 03/31/2011 at 11:42 PM

    I TOTALLY agree with you on these women. They look amazing and so much better than so many that are ‘young and up and comers” (read: 20!). As Marisa said, Sandra Bullock definitely fits this one as well. I’ve also really liked Eva Mendes too. Wow, it sounds like I have lots of girl crushes 😉

  3. 04/01/2011 at 1:43 PM

    Marisa, I’m sorry that I had spelled your name incorrectly and thank you for inspiring me.

    Both Marisa and jobo seem to be leaning heavily toward the Sandra Bullock angle. Yes, she continues to mature gracefully and seems to be as beautiful inside as well as outside. If you happen to meet up with her, please do make an effort to have her meet me for a Tuesday night leftover meatlof dinner IRL.

    The four above that I feature? Even in a sweat shirt and jeans, they are the high bar for classic beauty mixed with torn and spotty jeans. Beautiful to behold as they light the dinner candle and perfect to work along side of in garden soil.

    [Insert boy meets girl for life music here]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

