Home > Accomplishment, Mental Confetti > Mental Confetti

Mental Confetti

Anybody can have, and is allowed, a bad, bad day. But resilience, perspective and determination are formidable tools that have sprung up in the wake of planting seeds and are indispensible to moving forward.

Much like exercise, being in school has the capacity to boost self-confidence. Especially when everyone wants to team up with you because of your grades.

Yes, I did fall off the wagon with smoking. But, I’ve resolved to get back in the ring and overpower the demon.

I am hardly able to fathom that the little boy who fit snugly in the crook of my arm at one time (and who pooped in it) is going to be sixteen on Sunday! He once told me that he’s getting old. Imagine that thoughts that I had as his Father.

No matter how hard I try to keep up, the mail stack on my junk table grows out of control.

I’ve been in my apartment a little over two years and it still looks bare on the walls and naked around the windows. I need inexpensive ideas and a method of making them look something other than walls of white and stark panes. I have a few pictures here and there, but is it because I’m a male that I haven’t even a modicum of decorative flair?

After all this time, I still love to play my guitar. I recently dragged out some old Creedence, Concrete Blonde, Four Non-Blondes, Bad Company, James Taylor, Beatles and a mess of various artists. It’s all pitch perfect and I make a great session player. Ah, the skills I’ve acquired and excel at – all of which can’t make a living!

I’ve teamed up with a lucky woman at work who has a history of winning on scratch tickets. I’m not a gambler and never had the proclivity to spend money on gambling, but we’ve won over $1,300 in three weeks. I’ve got a feeling …

I hardly see re-aquainted girlfriend. We talk every few days on the phone, but with opposite work schedules it’s difficult to have what you would call a relationship.

My ‘secret’ gift of chocolates that I gave to someone at work post-Valentine’s day is no longer a secret. I never see this woman because she’s on an opposing end of the building, works in a different department, has hours that most times are ending at the beginning of mine and only comes to my end infrequently to keep an appointment with someone who needs her. So I haven’t seen her face to face in a few weeks. But yesterday as I was walking down a hall to fetch a cup of coffee, there she was walking toward me! An impromptu conversation ensued, I apologized for the candy-gram if it made her uncomfortable and I hoped that she wasn’t offended. She was not. She was flattered and said that she should have shared it with me. We talked small talk for a few minutes and parted with a ‘see you later’. I turned, took a small step, turned around again, took a big breath and said ‘Wait’! I asked if she’d like to get together for a cup of coffee, or a drink or a trip to Jamaica. She laughed out loud and said she’d like to get that cup. She asked me for my number and I wrote it on a nearby napkin. As I wrote she remarked that she could tell that I never gave my number out at bars. How? Because I didn’t write softly enough to prevent the napkin from tearing in places. I’m looking forward to the call.

I’ve been wakened a lot recently by charlie horses in my left leg. What, I’m going through a second puberty?

I told an eighty-two year old woman in a wheelchair that she was beautiful. She shook her head no. I repeated that she was beautiful to me and she replied “Is it because my lips are so full?”

  1. 02/23/2011 at 2:32 PM

    You have a really good way with words. I loved how you put this post together! And I am SO glad you said ‘wait’ to the girl you gave the flowers too. AND even more glad you are going for coffee (even though I would have said Jamaica!).

    As for the Charlie Horses…you might need potassium. Eat some bananas 🙂

  2. 02/23/2011 at 3:21 PM

    Just had a banana with my cereal and have eaten banana bread the past few weeks. I think it may have something to do with exercising.

    I’m very much looking forward to hearing from her! I’m actually, well, excited!

    Thank you for visiting!

  3. 02/23/2011 at 11:36 PM

    Check Goodwill and the Salvation Army for some inexpensive wall decorations. You should be able to find some nice prints/paintings at a very nice price.

    Good luck with your “date”. I read once that people are more likeable when you’re holding a warm beverage… so the coffee should help both of you make a good (better) impression 😉

  4. 02/24/2011 at 3:35 AM

    I also heard that I should check out the places you mentioned. But I think that I’m more of a modernist/contemporary kind of guy – this coming from someone who has 4X6 photos taped on his bedroom wall. I’m not sure if I’ll find what I have in mind there, but, hey, you never know and I’ll give it a try!

    If hot chocolate has the addition of Grand Marnier it still counts as a warm beverage, doesn’t it?

    Thank you!

  5. 02/24/2011 at 11:17 PM

    One of my new favourite websites is http://www.apartmenttherapy.com. My sister in law got me the book for Christmas and I can’t get enough of it. It gives really good inspiring ideas for all sorts of budgets for all sorts of square footage. I have so many stickies in the book and so many pages of the website bookmarked that I have no clue where I’m going to start once I finally get in to my own place! Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

