Home > Children > Sick Kids

Sick Kids

My children are with me this weekend and, as always, I looked forward to it! Especially because of the new job position, my schedule to see them is radically different.

But last night around 9PM my oldest told me that he didn’t feel good. This after they ate home-made sloppy joe’s! Everything was fresh from the market so I knew it wasn’t what he ate. But last week the two youngest had been sick so I knew that it was just his turn.

Champ that he is, he made the most of his turn, pukeing all night almost on the hour. Sometimes shorter than an hour and sometimes longer than an hour. It’s so distressing to see your child humped over the toilet gasping after nothing but bile has come out of their throat. And he was so exhausted from retching, that toward the morning while he was vomiting, his head was almost touching the toilet water, so I held his shoulders while he spewed.

Plans were already prearranged with reacquainted girlfriend to bring over her two kids later today so we could watch the Patriots football game. Actually, they’re more into it than I am, me being more of a baseball aficionado than I ever was for football. But they’re individuals and I want them to enjoy what they love to watch for sports.

I plan on making chicken fingers with dip and grilled pizza. I have the dough ready and just need to dash out quickly for the few little things I haven’t bought yet.

He’s eating a small ration of oyster crackers I allowed him and sips of coke until he feels better. Flat coke always seems to smooth out an upset stomach.

Did any of you ever have that as a remedy when you were sick as a kid – flat coke? I remember that coke syrup was sold in drugstores.

Categories: Children Tags: ,
  1. 01/17/2011 at 4:18 AM

    Ah… crackers and flat coke. Is he feeling 100% yet? Or did the Patriots loss send him into a relapse?

    • 01/17/2011 at 11:36 AM

      Actually, out of the two boys, he’s one one that doesn’t care one way or the other. And in the middle of all the noise during the game, he fell asleep on the couch – oblivious to the whole affair and didn’t wake up until after the company left.

      Patriots lost, oh well. Baseball comes soon!

  2. 01/17/2011 at 3:41 PM

    My mom gave me oyster crackers when I was sick too! Are you in New England too (hence the Patriots reference)? Maybe its a NE thing, lol. I never had flat coke though, she always gave us ginger ale.

    Anyway, not having children I can’t imagine how sad it must be to watch them be sick and not be able to fix it. I have a very weak stomach, so hopefully someday when I have a family I can handle it!

    • 01/17/2011 at 6:48 PM

      Yes Marisa, I’m a New Englander. I had ginger ale also, but I remember the coke syrup from the pharmacy more than the ginger ale. It always seemed to work. That is, at the end of sickness when you’ve thrown up everything.

      You’ll handle it when you have kids and they’re sick. I had the hardest time at first. Heck, we’re all human and no one wants to pick up fresh vomit with a mop or sponge, but you harden your stomach and place out your hand to do it. After a few years I was able to rub their backs as they retched kneeling right down beside them.

      Gross? Oh yea, The stench? Enough to make your eyes water. The sound? Can produce a gag reflex in an instant. But again, after a while, you stay for them and steady your nerves after.

      THis is all supposed to come under the heading of ‘because I love you’.

  3. 01/18/2011 at 3:32 AM

    Hope he’s feeling better! Not a fun way to spend a weekend for either of you I’m sure. I’ve never heard of using flat Coke – we always did gingerale.

    • 01/18/2011 at 5:54 AM

      Thank you for asking. He recovered splendidly. Poor kid slept through the football game, all the food and all the company.

      Next morning he was back to his fifteen year old surly self complete with killing nazi zombies on the X-box, asking/demanding what was for breakfast and one word replies to open ended questions.

      The eldest fruit of my loins was back!

  4. 01/21/2011 at 12:41 AM

    Coke syrup! I remember that remedy. Is it still available in drugstores?

    Hope all is well and healthy in your house by now!

    • 01/21/2011 at 6:42 AM

      At last, someone who remembers coke syrup! It’s been over ten years since I last bought it for my kids, but I would tend to believe that it’s still being sold.

      Everyone is over the bug and feeling fit – thanks for asking Jane.

  5. 01/21/2011 at 8:23 PM

    Nothing worse than sick kids. I used to drink flat gingerale and eat saltines when sick… Hardly some genius advice though. Very pleased to have found my way to your words.

    • 01/24/2011 at 1:26 PM

      I agree that there is nothing worse. Even if you are sick yourself, they take the priority. However, being sick with them is still much better than being sick without them.

      I’m happy to note that you stopped over Aidan. When I was in the middle of my moments of doubt and self pity I found your blog and it was one of the inspirations to get off my blistering knees and lurch forward into a more positive and meaningful approach. Thank you for that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

