Home > Children, Faith, Family, Job, Struggling > Temp Help

Temp Help

Well, that about says it all.

After the devastation of not being tendered an offer after my second interview last week, I was in an orientation class for three days. It’s an orientation that will only lead to a per diem job and who knows just how many shifts I’ll pick up? It’s not full-time or even part-time, so no benefits and I’m still in the same position.

This morning I received a call to fill in a call out. Temp help. I must take it. I must take anything I can at all.

And so, Christmas looms large. No tree, no presents, no cheer. But my children – they’re so young! How can I decide between presents for them and rent?

God help me.

I dreamed of my ex last night.

  1. casse01
    12/13/2010 at 4:25 PM

    Gosh, as I read this I feel so bad for you. I wish I could offer some comforting words but I feel that they would sound trite during such a difficult time.

    I would also recommend checking w the salvation army or somehwere similar for xmas presents and pay the rent.

  2. 12/14/2010 at 1:25 PM

    Cass – you are an angel. You consistently comment and I so look forward to reading it!

    I’m looking forward to jump starting my posts with cheer and delight and comfort for myself and others. Just wait. It’ll happen.

    Thank you for continued inspiration!

  3. 12/15/2010 at 3:51 AM

    A friend of mine once told me about her first christmas after her divorce… money was tight and she was very much alone. She and her young daughter “borrowed” a friend’s unoccupied house for 2 days, where they rented movies and painted their nails. Presents don’t matter… you can make memories without them.

    • 12/15/2010 at 11:08 AM

      I know you’re right. It would be just so difficult to have them over Christmas Eve and have them wake up to nothing.

      I know it would be a Walton-esque experience in what makes Christmas matter.

      I will find a way somehow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

