Home > Alone, Job, Reaching Out, Struggling > Where To Now?

Where To Now?

Post no-offer. It was almost audibly crushing my not getting the offer yesterday. I was nearly perfect in many ways for the job, yet the one thing that stopped them was that I left my last job before securing myself a new position. She said that it was strange to do that in this economy and they worried that I was a short-term employee, a job-hopper.

If the incident did not happen at my last job, I would still be there and on my way to three years of service! So, effectively, the incident at my last job not only caused me my job at the time, it also cost me my future job.

Heartbreaking for me.

Last night I met my old boss to pick up my belongings from my old position. They were already piled into cardboard boxes. It was such a bright, neon reminder of how I had ended many, many times before – a cardboard box or a plastic bag filled with my belongings when being shuffled from foster home to foster home, moving from one dirty apartment rooming house to another in my early twenties and seeing the five white baggies and a cardboard box with random items in the backseat of my car when I had to move out as my divorce was happening. And now, the image of cardboard boxes while facing the dread of my bleeding cash reserve highlighting the incoming doom of leaving my apartment.

Today, I am in an orientation for a per diem position. Funny, I never thought that I would have made it this far without a full-time position being secured. But now, here I am, sitting for a day, not able to go look for a position, preparing for a once in a while shift. And, the same tomorrow.

My anxiety is ever-increasing as the holidays approach. Am I going to be able to get a position before Christmas? Will everyone be holding off until Christmas and the New Year have passed? I wouldn’t be able to hold on that long.

What about you? Any ideas, strategies or comments? Any thoughts or December assurances?

  1. casse01
    12/07/2010 at 2:05 PM

    well that just sucks. It is hard to find a job around Christmas time so I will be crossing my fingers for you.

    Keep at it!

    • 12/08/2010 at 11:28 AM

      Cassee – I thank you for your support. You are nice a nice person to read, let alone, comment on my blog! I do so appreciate the interest and the encouragement – bless you!

      Amy – I found that you not only commented, but you commented on several of my posts! I am lucky indeed to read about your story and how well you persevere as well. Truely an inspiration for me as well. I look forward to hearing again from you.

      Thank you both!

  2. casse01
    12/10/2010 at 3:20 PM

    ???? Does this mean good news?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

