Home > Poetry or Lyrics, Reaching Out > I Miss The Way It Used To Be

I Miss The Way It Used To Be

As long as I’m posting anonymously, I figure that I can write about anything at all. Anything in my mind and everything in my heart can come out because I’m not embarrassed that someone will confront me with a different eye. So, I wrote down words that … just came out in less than a half-hour.



The driveway so uneven
Led to our front door
It wasn’t a palace, but it was the dream for us

The stairs that climbed inside
Came into the kitchen
Where we’d all give thanks for what we have

It’s another lonely day, that leads to lonely night
And I miss the way it used to be
I stare out at the sun, that turns into the moon
And I miss the way it used to be
You don’t know what you got seems so cliché
Until everything’s gone, and your broken, crying all alone

The decorated family room
That changed with every reason
Always had our kid’s pictures as an anchor

The rooms where we made love
Now look almost holy
I can picture them with feathered grace

It’s another lonely day, that lead to lonely night
And I miss the way it used to be
I stare out at the sun, that turns into the moon
And I miss the way it used to be
You don’t know what you got seems so cliché
Until everything’s gone, and your broken, crying all alone

The smell of new mowed grass
While on our back yard porch
And we held hands for no reason at all

The clothes we wore for church
Never seemed to fit right
Cause we were buying for the kids instead

It’s another lonely day, that lead to lonely night
And I miss the way it used to be
I stare out at the sun, that turns into the moon
And I miss the way it used to be
You don’t know what you got seems so cliché
Until everything’s gone, and your broken, crying all alone

I miss the way it used to be

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

