Home > Breathing Above The Foam, Home > The Dream Is Over

The Dream Is Over

I remember the time I pulled the rear bumper off of my car thinking I had the perfect solution.

A neighbor from across the street at my old house had purchased new property and they were about to begin construction on it. Knowing how much I loved gardening she suggested that I get to her new property and take as many blueberry bushes as I wanted. All I had to do was dig them up. I was chilled, that’s how excited I was at the prospect of having mature blueberry bushes! I arrived at her property with a pick, shovel and well-worn work gloves.

Surveying the bushes, I appraised a few that looked well-rounded and plump and began digging around the roots. Trouble was I soon found out, wild blueberry bushes have deep and hearty roots. For a few hours I picked, shoveled and tugged at a few bushes but still couldn’t pull one bush fully out of the ground. So, I had an idea. I would wrap some rope I had in the trunk around the exposed roots, tie the other end to my car’s rear bumper and simply pull them out! Why didn’t I think of that before?

Sweating, but determined, I tied the knots as tightly as I could on both ends, took off my gloves (which revealed a few open blisters on my right hand), and started up the car. I gently pulled forward so I could see that the slack in the rope was gone and carefully pushed down on the accelerator. After a few tentative rocking motions nothing happened. I could see as I leaned out of the driver’s side door that the rope was taught and that the bush was slightly leaning toward the car, but no hint of uprooting showed itself. So I pressed heavier on the gas pedal. Still, no giving up the ground for that blueberry bush!

Bolder, I backed up maybe ten feet and decided that building some speed would pluck it out of the ground as easily as plucking one of the juicy berries would be. One foot on the gas, the other halfway out the door and my head cocked toward the rear, I bolted. The ten feet took only a slight moment to cover, but I remember the sharp buck of the car at the end of the ten feet and the slam of the brake at probably foot number fifteen.

I hurried out of my car and could see the damage I had done even before I strode to the passenger door. Fifteen feet away, the blueberry bush stood – still solidly rooted in its original spot. Tied to its exposed roots was the rope. On the other end of the rope was my car’s rear bumper, pulled much closer to the bush than to my car by the force of the pull.

Eventually, I decided that with all the investment of time and effort I had put in, not to mention my car’s rear bumper, that bush was going to be mine no matter how it happened. I left the site, drove back to my house, came back with an old saw and cut those roots one at a time until I could pull out the bush and hoist it into my trunk – dirt, stray leaves, bugs and anything else that was attached.

I planted that bush in a special spot in my beloved garden and tended it daily for most of the first few weeks in its new location. In the next few years it prospered, giving up wonderfully deep blue/purple berries that satisfied both the wild life that happened upon the free feast, local kids that regularly came to pick a mouthful (and stained their clothes) while playing in the neighborhood and enough left over for my own family to incorporate them into pancakes, muffins, ice trays and daily round the clock snacks.

I remember my little girl, who must have been about four or five at the time, in a billowy yellow sundress and a white, wide-brimmed sunhat jumping sideways, circling the bush singing “Here we go ’round the blueberry bush, the blueberry bush …” and laughing her little girl giggle as she sang and pulled berries into her mouth.

I remember both of my boys helping me dig a pit to plant the huge bush in. And after the initial deluge of water for the bush, how we swung into an impromptu water hose fight. We sat down in the wet soil, shared sips of iced tea and I remember hugging them both – one on either side of me.

I loved that blueberry bush. 

Today, at approximately noon-time, my house and property go up for foreclosure auction. We both have been working with a realtor to push it as a short sell, and even had a P&S agreement from a young family (at a hugely significant slashing of price), but I received word yesterday from the realtor that the bank did not accept the offer and was proceeding with the foreclosure.

  1. 05/18/2011 at 5:26 PM

    First of all, you are a beautiful writer. I loved reading this story, until the end, that is. (and did you read your kids ‘blueberries for sam’ growing up? I STILL love that book and buy it for my friends for baby showers! Reading this reminded me of that). As for the short sale…my heart breaks reading that because I went through it two, almost two years ago now (this Oct) and it was very difficult, to say the least. I mourned the loss of the house, but at the same time, it was a relief to let go and move on. I am sorry yours is heading towards foreclosure. Was relieved my short sale got accepted. Email me if you want the dirty details ;-) Let’s just say the selling price was disgusting. Absolutely abhorring.

    • 05/19/2011 at 11:51 PM

      Thank you jobo. I feel, well, almost the same way. I’m disturbed that the house didn’t short sell. The ex didn’t pay mortgage payments for a year – and it was then that she told me – just when she was planning on moving. It disturbs me because my name is also listed on the deed and now my credit will be down the pits because of what happened.

      On a lighter note, Blueberries for Sam is a great book. Thanks for reminding me!

      • 05/20/2011 at 12:41 AM

        That is very disturbing…and sad that it happened. But at least you are somewhat forced into a fresh start, right? And PS now I want to go read Blueberries for Sam!

  2. 05/18/2011 at 11:20 PM

    The beginning of this reminds me of the poem about the oak tree. Have you heard it? I found it here: http://lessonsoftheoaktree.blogspot.com/2009/02/we-are-all-children.html

    • 05/19/2011 at 11:52 PM

      You know, it read as vaguely familiar to me. Thank you for steering me to read it again.

  3. 05/27/2011 at 9:46 PM

    I’m sorry to hear what is happening to your house. So many people are in your same boat, but I’m sure that doesn’t bring you much comfort. (Any way you can steal the blueberry bush?) :)

  4. 06/07/2011 at 12:46 AM

    How are you doing now? I hope you’re OK. It seems like you’re struggling right now. I wish you much luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

